Home Japanese warriors 7 Wallabies and 3 Springboks for the Barbarians against Samoa

7 Wallabies and 3 Springboks for the Barbarians against Samoa


Dave Rennie has named his Barbarians squad to face Samoa in Saturday’s Killik Cup match at Twickenham, the Wallabies coach including seven Australians, three Springboks, three Japanese, one Scottish and one Argentinian in a starting XV that will be skippered by Ryan Wilson, the RugbyPass download co-host of the show.

Steven Kitshoff, Malcolm Marx and Duane Vermeulen will give the starting field a very South African complexion just seven days after being part of the Springboks squad beaten by England in the Autumn Nations Series final.

Rob Leota, Pete Samu, Nic White, James O’Connor, Filipo Daugunu, Len Ikitau and Tom Wright are the starting seven wallabies as the age-old tradition of barbarians, including uncapped players, continues with the selection of Rodrigo. Fernandez Criado of Belgrano Athletic and Olly Robinson of Cardiff RFC on the bench. Former Irish and Lions full-back Rob Kearney is also on the bench in his last game before retirement.

Guess the Celebrity Rose | Karen Carney | England Rugby

Video spacer

Guess the Celebrity Rose | Karen Carney | England Rugby

Rennie said: “We had a great week – a good combination of fieldwork, connection and fun. They are a strong group and we are all focused on Saturday.

“We have eight different countries represented on our squad and the diversity, different levels of experience and different styles of play have really combined to create an exciting roster. We are planning to go out and play champagne rugby against a strong Samoan team and give the fans a great show. “

BARBARIANS (vs Samoa, Saturday)
1. Steven Kitshoff (South Africa, DHL Stormers)
2. Malcolm Marx (South Africa, Kubota Spears)
3. Shinnosuke Kakinaga (Japan, Tokyo Sungoliath)
4. Rob Leota (Australia, Melbourne Rebels)
5. Naohiro Kotaki (Japan, Kobelco Kobe Steelers)
6. Ryan Wilson (Scotland, Glasgow Warriors) CAPTAIN
7. Pete Samu (Australia, ACT Brumbies)
8. Duane Vermeulen (South Africa, Ulster Rugby)
9. Nic White (Australia, ACT Brumbies)
10. James O’Connor (Australia, Queensland Reds)
11. Filipo Daugunu (Australia, Queensland Reds)
12. Ryoto Nakamura (Japan, Tokyo Sungoliath)
13. Len Ikitau (Australia, ACT Brumbies)
14. Marcos Moneta (Argentina, San Andres)
15. Tom Wright (Australia, ACT Brumbies)
16. Kosuke Horikoshi (Japan, Tokyo Sungoliath)
17. Angus Bell (Australia, NSW Waratahs)
18. Gia Kharaishvili (Georgia, Racing 92)
19. Rodrigo Fernandez Criado (Belgrano Athletic)
20. Olly Robinson (Cardiff RFC)
21. Tate McDermott (Australia, Queensland Reds)
22. Izaia Perese (Australia, NSW Waratahs)
23. Rob Kearney (Ireland, former Leinster and Western Force)

BARBARIAN WOMEN (vs Springboks)
1. Lindsay Peat (Ireland, Union of Railways)
2. Laura Russell (Canada, Nomads of Toronto)
3. Hope Rogers (United States, Life West)
4. Alycia Washington (United States, Worcester Warriors)
5. Lenaig Corson (France, Stade Rennais Rugby)
6. Ciara Griffin (Ireland, UL Bohemians) VICE CAPTAIN
7. Karen Paquin (Canada, Stade Bordelais)
8. Anna Caplice (Ireland, Gloucester Hartpury)
9. Natasha Hunt (England, Gloucester Hartpury) CAPTAIN
10. Katy Daley-McLean (England, Sale Sharks)
11. Sarah Levy (United States, New York Rugby Club)
12. Jenny Murphy (Ireland, Old Belvedere RFC)
13. Sene Naoupu (Ireland, Leinster)
14. Rhona Lloyd (Scotland, The Lionesses Of The Bordeaux Stadium)
15. Bulou Mataitoga (United States, Berkeley All Blues)
16. Isabel Rico Vazquez (Spain, Olimpico De Pozuelo Madrid)
17. Rochelle Clark (England, Saracens)
18. Simi Pam (England, Bristol Bears)
19. Sonia Green (England, Saracens)
20. Bethan Dainton (Wales, Harlequins)
21. Sammy Wong (New Zealand, Wasps)
22. Morgane Peyronnet (France, Montpellier Hérault Rugby)
23. Katie Mason (England, Wasps)


Join RugbyPass + now and join the conversation with all new comments!

Join now


No more news No more news